Citrusy Sureau

I knew exactly that this fabric and this pattern were meant for each other.

20130603-220702.jpg

Did not have enough fabric for 3/4 sleeves (as the pattern calls for), so made short sleeves instead. I think I overlaid the Renfrew sleeve to check length.

As the skirt seemed a bit short for my tastes, and I had all these new sewing feet to try out, I decided to do a rolled hem on the skirt. It was such a roaring success and I liked it so much, I did a rolled hem on the sleeves, too. Then I tried to do a rolled hem on some knit fabric and can I just say: Stop while you’re ahead, friends. Don’t try to roll hem everything (and perhaps especially not knit fabrics) just because it’s kinda fun. It might not be the most appropriate treatment. But on quilting cotton? Fabulous.

Lovely rolled hem. In love with this hem treatment!

20130603-220552.jpg

One of my new sewing feet was an invisible zipper foot. I must admit to being skeptical about this foot, because it really seemed that my normal zipper foot worked fine on invisible zippers. But I am a convert, and I shall also proselytise: invisible zipper foot really does assist with inserting the zipper as invisibly as it is intended. It just looks like another seam. Actually, it almost looks better than some of my seams.

Invisible zipper. Third ever insertion (applause, please) and first time using an invisible zipper foot.

20130603-220559.jpg

If you’ve never had one, the invisible zipper foot has a channel or track of sorts that holds the zipper teeth, which you have of course diligently pressed open, away from the zipper tape (that’s the bit that gets sewn) so you can sew really close to the teeth which is how the zipper disappears into the seam. It does make it a wee bit easier to sew the teeth itself,so you just have to be a bit more careful about that.

I was pretty chuffed. Here I am demonstrating that you cannot see the zip. See? No!

20130603-220645.jpg

I always wonder about writing these advice-y bits. Take all my sewing advice with a large grain of rock salt, please. I’m a confident, adventurous, slapdash beginner of sorts. I have weird sewing experience (more familiar with industrial machines, than domestic machines) and am emphatically not a couture or vintage sewist (nor ever will I be, I suspect). I will do what works, not necessarily what is the best or most beautiful treatment. Sometimes, I do what I like because it’s fun (see ‘rolled hem’, above), irrespective of, well, everything, really.

And the dress, styled for autumn with me made leggings and boots. And a silly face.

20130603-220627.jpg

This is the face I make while waiting.

The alternative, however, is the scowl. I think I should not look directly at the camera, because when I do, I always look like I am ready to fight someone.

I’ve got this modelling thing down: Models scowl like nothing else. I can scowl:

20130603-220636.jpg

But really, it is impossible to scowl (for long) in this dress.

20130604-223303.jpg

26 Comments

  1. You are so correct- perfect fabric and dress combo! You look great- from excellent hem to perfect zip! I’m dying to try these patterns, but not so sure how they will convert to a bigger girl- I may just have to admire them on you!

    Reply

    1. If you check out the Deer and Doe Addict blog, you may never get off the Internet… And you’ll find lots of body shapes rocking all the styles!

      Reply

  2. I love this frock (yep – not a dress def. a frock). Love the fabric, love the style and the length.
    PS And the faces 😘

    Reply

    1. Thank you! One version of me wants to make more dresses in crazy prints, because they just make me so happy. A more sensible version requires I make clothes out of plain fabrics so I actually wear them. This dress is unlikely to be worn at work!

      Reply

      1. (More applause) πŸ™‚ Sadly, my overlocker is vintage and does not do a rolled hem. Thinking about getting a foot for my sewing macine though.

  3. So great! The fabric is perfect for that pattern. Do you need a special foot for rolled hems? I know I’ve got a special plate on my overlocker for them, but I’m not brave enough to try it yet- either on sewing machine or serger.

    Reply

    1. I think on a plain machine you do need a special foot. The one I have requires you to sew a straight stitch for a bit, then use it to pull the fabric through the foot, which has a twirly bit which rolls the fabric. You can then either use a zig zag stitch, as I have, to create a picot-esque edge, or a straight stitch for the more usual narrow hem / rolled hem look. I’ve not done straight stitch narrow/ rolled hem yet. I do loves my zig zag.

      Reply

  4. Y’know, I really come here on the sewing posts to check out your posing techniques. They are most entertaining πŸ™‚ p.s., if that’s your scowl, I think it needs work.

    Reply

    1. Hey! How did I miss this comment?
      I shall practise my scowl. Must impress you with my scowl. Do you think you will use my posing techniques at work? Ha ha. Boy, do I ever make me laugh.

      Reply

  5. This is the bee’s knees, Oanh! A marvellous zipper insertion if I may so myself!
    (This dress makes me think of cocktails and summer and fun!)

    Reply

    1. Bees probably like citrus as much as I do… This might be the frock tails dress unless something else comes along in the meantime …

      Reply

  6. Applause!!!! I haven’t put in a zip for aaages (my current WIP will be a testing time, I suspect), and I’ve never done a rolled hem, so you’ve got two on me…

    Reply

  7. Oh! Your dress is lovely! I just got this pattern and am going to make my first and was going to put in an invisible zipper as well! I am with you, that foot is the best thing ever! It’s right up there with my walking foot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

