AWW2012: The Legacy by Kirsten Tranter

The LegacyThe Legacy by Kirsten Tranter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am mostly likely going to fail to do this novel justice, but I also feel that I need to write about it now, rather than in a few days time when it will be driven out of my mind by the myriad distractions life currently presents me with.

This novel was almost meditative, aching with its drawn out story of seeking answers to the mystery of “What happened to Ingrid?” (the tagline on the front cover, although I must say my initial reaction to that was: why do I care?). I rather like novels about not very much, about rather mundane things, actually, even if the people in them are remarkable (or remarkable to the narrator).

Well written and captivating, the narrator is particularly well-drawn. I’d like to know more about her aunt, and her relationship with her mother and her brother, but those gaps make the story more enticing, rather than distracting.

3 Comments

  1. The follow up to this has been getting very good press. Thanks for sharing your review for the AWW challenge

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    Reply

Leave a Reply

