An Awesome Book About Compost

How’s that for a title to have you instantly clicking onto my blog? I’m reading all my spam and learning to improve my blog traffic. Actually, I’m not. I just like compost.

This isn’t really a review. It’s just my notes from Goodreads, but I thought it was worth sharing on this blog.

Resurrection in a Bucket: the Rich and Fertile Story of Compost by Margaret Simons
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was awesome. It had me laughing out loud. Partially, I was laughing at the fact that I was finding so enjoyable reading a little book about compost, but also just because it was funny.

I showed my partner a section about the effects of compost on marriage, which made me laugh so hard I had to put the book down and wipe tears from my eyes (perhaps it won’t affect you in the same way, but if it does, let me know. We should talk.) Basically, the couple have two compost bins, one in use for adding to and one composting. Fairly basic if you’re a composter. The member of the marriage not dealing most often with the compost kept adding waste to the dormant bin and a series of escalating passive aggressiveness occurred in the backyard.

I’m the one responsible for panicking about organic waste in our house, and the one who used to turn the compost, and the one who mostly takes it out. I’m also the one who rhapsodies about compost, but I try not to do it too often. People stop inviting you out if you do. At the moment, I’m worm-farming,(*) or trying to, due to the lack of dirt in my “garden”.

Anyway, this book is a heap of fun. Compost is a heap of fun, too. I highly recommend both.

(* By the way, dear readers of This Blog, the worm farm comes along wonderfully.  It is almost time to make another box but everything seems to be working well and no terrible smells, no sludge and not too many dead worms.)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

