Moroccan Wildflowers

A rather long time ago, I promised you pictures of flowers while we were cycling. That never eventuated. Maintaining one blog was hard enough.

So, for your delectation, below are a smattering of flower photographs from Morocco.

I still don’t quite have my picture taking mojo back. Also, I am supposed to be making a selection of photographs from our trip to, you know, *print*, but the size of the task defeats. We took almost 10,000 photos; we narrowed them down to about 5,000; and we have to decrease that further to a number preferably less than 1,000. Won’t take any time at all. No sir. What I actually do is just drift through the pictures. Perhaps by doing so, some of the better ones will lodge firmly in my brain and magically get printed. I’ve thought about implementing a more methodical system, but I think magic is the only thing that will help.

But you deserve some pictures. And here they are.

Pink Wildflower, Al Hoceima NP

Purple wildflower (with bonus ladybug), near Oualidia.

White wildflower, near Immessouane.

Almond Blossom, near Ighrem.

Desert Furry Nightshade (I made that up), near Tata.

As per always, if you know what any of these are, shoot me a comment. I love learning names of Things. Especially pretty floral Things.

3 Comments

  1. These are so delicate and lovely, Oanh! The purple and white wildflowers look like some kind of lily but I don’t know their names. Did you take notes to recall where you took the photos? Or is it some automatic GPS thing? 10,000 is a daunting number. You have enough for a coffee-table book!

    Reply

    1. Thank you! I shall do some research on “lily, purple/white, morocco”
      and see what I come up with. I always forget to take more general
      photos (of leaves, of root system, of a finger beside a flower for
      size purposes) but hey ho, I’m just an enthusiastic amateur.

      No, no fancy-schmancy automatic GPS thing, just took notes. We were
      very good on our trip with dealing with photos every few days,
      therefore ensuring the task was never too daunting. It was fairly
      easy to work out where / near where photos were taken because we kept
      a record of our route and we rarely deviated too far from the road if
      we were stopping for a photo or lunch or the night.

      Yes, that’s another task on the agenda: make a photo-book (or
      three). We shall see how that eventuates.

      Reply

  2. Beautiful photos Oanh. Now I’m curious what these are and have been googling like mad to try to find out what these Moroccan flowers might be. I have the same problem with my pictures, except mine are of the kids and I can identify those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

