Puffin Noises

I should have said in my last post (although I really did already say rather a lot) that puffins make the most hilarious sounds.

They are generally noiseless birds, except when breeding.  And no, that doesn’t mean I was listening in on them doing the dirty to make more cute puffins (and oh my, baby puffins are just so – *sigh*).  When they are ready to breed they start making noises, i.e. throughout the summer.  Winter must be a strange time for puffins: floating in the Atlantic Sea and saying nothing at all.

I first heard this weird mechanical sound, like the whirring of a petrol-powered lawn mower, with the volume turned down real low.  At the time, I was standing beside the Puffin Cam, so I thought it was just that.  But then I moved about 10 metres away from the Puffin Cam and heard the sound again.  It seemed to be coming from the ground.  Listening harder, I realised, Mr Puffins hums like a lawn mower that just won’t start.

You can hear it here.

The sound quality of the recording on the RSPB’s website is excellent.  It doesn’t give you an idea of how it actually sounds out there, on the edge of the cliff.  So, to get the true picture: turn the volume down real low, grin like an idiot, let your brain turn to mush and think what it’s like to get to eat your favourite food after months and months of waiting .  There, that’s what it’s like to listen to a puffin.

Puffins! (No. I am not obsessed.  Oh, okay. Yes I am.)

2 Comments

  1. Looking forward to listening to that link soon. They are such darling little birds, I can see how you are attached to them. And that you got to see them in person is super extra nice. So will you be planning your vacations around puffin habitats?

    Reply

  2. […] NB – another way of getting around piecing together PDF patterns is to print it at a copy shop.  Note, however, not all PDF pattern designers offer a copy shop option (I think they should) and not all copy shops are equal.  I had been enthused about this way of doing it, only to discover that even if I chose an option to print at the copy shop where there was no scaling or at 100% or whatever, the copy shop just decided to do it how they wanted to do it and scaled it to fit any ol’ how.  I got right mad at the copy shop and have never printed there since.  Also, paper sizes are not universal.  I’d love an A0 option, because the copy shops here understand that and when there has been an A0 option, everything’s worked wonderfully.  But some of you reading this will be wondering, “what on earth is A0?” And that’s fair enough because you don’t live in Australia, yet you’re reading my blog (aw, thanks, or why are you still reading this far down if you did a google  search for puffin noises*?  Did you not realise that by now I might not even get to discussing that because I already discussed it back in 2009?)  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

