Field of Poppies

It is really summer when you see this:

Field of Poppies, North Hampshire, August 2009.

Field of Poppies, North Hampshire, August 2009.

This is actually the first year that I have seen a field of poppies in England.  Usually, I come upon the fields after the poppies have bloomed – I know by the seed heads that they were here but I have missed them in their red dominance of fields as I see only the later blooming ones scattered along the disturbed earth of footpaths.

3 Comments

    1. nikkipolani

      I don’t think poppies have a smell – or if they do, it’s not a very strong smell. This photo amuses me because what you don’t see is the barb wire fence and me thigh deep in nettles with the camera lens aimed between fence wires!

      Reply

  1. Ah, the perils of the photographer. It’s about chosing the right view, isn’t it? What you want to see/express.

    However, I did just read yesterday about the gear a photojournalist takes with him when he’s on the battle lines embedded with the army. Makes all of my photo adventures downright dull.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

