Summer Flowers – Saturday

The hydrangea is a flower that perplexes me.  I am aware it blooms in different colours due to the level of PH in the soil (more alkaline, towards the blue end of the spectrum; more acid, the pink end – or is it the other way around?) but I am surprised by the number of hydrangea bushes that I see that have a full range of colours.  I just don’t understand how that can happen?

Oh, I am aware it is not a wild flower.  Work with me as I evade categories here.

Hydrangea at Work, July 2009.

Hydrangea at Work, July 2009.

And I never knew there were different types of hydrangea; although, I guess, I can extrapolate because there are different types of almost everything, so why not hydrangea?

Lace Hydrangea, London. August 2009.

Lace Hydrangea, London. August 2009.

2 Comments

  1. Yes, lots and lots and lots of different kinds of hydrangeas! Some are not affected by pH (typically whites that have been bred to stay white). Have you tried pressing some of the flowers? Sometimes they change colour again.

    Reply

    1. nikkipolani

      No, I ‘ve never tried to press hydrangeas… I did used to press flowers a lot and I also had a flower drying kit – it was pretty cool! Next year, perhaps, as the hydrangeas are coming to the end of their bloom-life.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

