Something New (for me)

I’m going to try to do a week load of photo posts.  Yes, post with photos every day for a week.  Laugh WITH me, friends, not AT me for my hubris.

It is definitely almost autumn already.  For once, I am reluctant to let summer go.  I am very much a cold weather person and I do so adore autumn in England.  Perhaps I would adore autumn anywhere but I have only experienced autumn in England.

This morning I sat at the library gazing out the window at the large park opposite.  The wind blew mightily; trees shook while their leaves fought to hold on.  A few did not have strong enough stems and let go, fluttering slowly down to the ground.  The air has a distinct bitter edge to it and I am cycling wearing a vest (gilet/waistcoat) and long trousers again, rather than my 3/4 length shorts.

The whole of this past week has been windy – it is as if the weather wishes to blow away the last vestiges of summer entirely: sweep out the green and bring in the red and yellow.

I’m going to have a week of nostalgia – of the lovely summer wildflowers of England & Wales I encountered during my walks and cycles.

First up: the first flowers that usher in summer.  Can you guess?

Daisy from Old Wardour Castle, near Salisbury.

Daisy from Old Wardour Castle, near Salisbury. April 2009.

I am aware April is not yet summer but daisies are definitely summer flowers, not spring.  No, la la la, not listening.

Did you grow up making daisy chains?  I did not.  I grew up making clover flower chains because  daisies do not grow in Brisbane.  One of my workmates was astounded that I had never made daisy chains.  We were walking together through the park near my workplace, and I was picking my way carefully among the daisies, unable to decide on a place to sit to eat our lunch because I would squash a daisy if I sat anywhere.  She found amusing my amazement at seeing a lawn carpetted with the bright, fried-egg flowers.  Together, we grown girls made a daisy chain one lunch time, staining our fingers green.

They’re ubiquitous.  Nothing special.  Exceptionally common.  And I adore them for it.

(I will be very embarassed if I’ve shown you this picture before).

A wild daffodil, I think.  Near Windermere, Lake District. April 2009.

A wild daffodil, I think. Near Windermere, Lake District. April 2009.

This is the one and only time I have seen this flower – what I think is a wild daffodil but am prepared to be corrected by anyone who sounds more authoritative.

And, lastly for this post, May in England is glorious.

(Yes, yes, I know May is not summer either.  la la la not listening remember?)

Bluebell Wood, near Moreton-in-Marsh. May 2009.

Bluebell Wood, near Moreton-in-Marsh. May 2009.

I was ever so excited to see this bluebell wood, in the Cotswolds.  The English bluebell is rare in Southern England, where it has been outcompeted by the Spanish / hybrid bluebell (equally pretty, just not native).  The following night, we camped beside a bluebell wood – less picturesque then this one but there is something about that expanse of blue that expresses magic.

Oh, and I lied about last.  You just have to see this to understand.

Bluebell close-up, Lydford Gorge, April 2007.

Bluebell close-up, Lydford Gorge, April 2007.

5 Comments

  1. That bluebell wood looks magical!

    I am reluctant for this summer to end as well. Perhaps it’s because after several years of not allowing myself to go anywhere, I took several trips and it’s felt like summer again. You know, like in childhood when school’s out and you get tor play. I hadn’t allowed myself to play for quite some time.

    Reply

  2. I’m so happy to read this.

    I love your photos and am a sucker for photo-posts (I aspire to them myself but they’ve stayed well and truly in the realm of the ‘aspirational’…).

    Reply

    1. Everyone! I must ‘fess up. The bluebell wood photo was taken by my partner.

      wandering chopsticks
      I’m pleased to hear you are playing this summer – it is much deserved!

      celia
      Fairytale! That is very accurate. English woods are very fairytale-like, when they are in their full glory.

      tseen
      Thank you. You are so very encouraging. I want to post more photos, as then I take more or think more about taking photos, anyway. And I realise that I have not quite documented enough all the wonderful things I see here and we won’t be here forever…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

