Spring Flowers

It is June now.  Halfway through the year.

I once read that one’s lifetime is a spiral, with the circles getting tighter and tighter as you get older.   I liked the idea: remember how long the years felt as a child and how they feel like they are speeding by now.  Every year seems to go faster and faster.  I don’t know if this is my own fault – we do often seem to be rather busy – or if it is the case that time in my life is spiralling away.

Summer is starting here.  Amusingly, the last two weeks of May were uncharacteristically hot, but now temperatures have dropped back to low teens and I can’t decide whether to discard my buff when cycling or not.

I have scattered wildflower seeds in my front yard with an optimistic vision of creating a mini wildflower meadow.  I suspect only weeds will prosper.  I do love England’s summer’s wildflowers.  We will be walking and cycling in the next few months and I will photograph and post them accordingly.

In the meantime, let’s indulge in some nostalgia for springtime.  Here are some photos of spring flowers that I have taken in the last few months.

Dont you love this blue?  Forget-me-not, Bowness on Windermere, April 2009

Don't you love this blue? Forget-me-not, Bowness on Windermere, April 2009

The Largest Tulips I have ever seen.  Blackwell House, April 2009.

Startling pink on The Largest Tulips I have ever seen. Blackwell House, April 2009.

Cherry Blossoms near Windsor Castle, March 2009

Much softer pink: Cherry Blossoms near Windsor Castle, March 2009

Hawthorn in bloom, Berkshire, March 2009

Hawthorn in bloom, Berkshire, March 2009

7 Comments

  1. and back here we have entered the realm of cold cold nights…

    its been hitting below 5 degrees of late and that is bbbbrrrr for a desert country like ours (mine)!! =)

    Reply

  2. nikkipolani

    The wildflower seeds are still dormant, which makes me think some birds have got them 😦

    purple orchid
    5 degrees? Ha, that’s practically summer, here! It might be summer in England but temperatures hover around the teens for most of the day!

    Reply

  3. Hi RavenousCouple

    Thank you

    Ah, London. It is a fab place but I only visit occassionally – it’s much to exhausting for the likes of me.

    From you and WC, it looks like I might have to make a trip to LA, USA sometime. The food there looks astounding!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

