Distracting you with Pictures

Busy-ness and tired-ness and baking adventures and actual adventures have left me with less time to compose a blog post than I would like.

I’ve been meaning to post photos for a while, so here are a few old photos of flowers that I like.  This is paving the way for showing you newer photos of flowers that I like.  That is, I like the flower and I like the photo.

Hoya, Photo taken October 2006.

Hoya. Photo taken October 2006.

I woke to some heavenly scent drawing me from the guest room and into the living room.  I wandered around the living room trying to find the source and there it was: a musky syrup clinging to the centre of each gorgeous, tiny star-shaped flower.  Each, if I recall correctly, was no more than a centimetre wide.

Hoyas, I subsequently learned, are a particular favourite indoor plant of 50s housewives that have since gone out of fashion.  Why are they not more prolific when they are such delightful things?  The scent can be overpowering, but so too can jasmine and lavender.

Flannel flower, in bloom and bud.  Photo taken October 2006

Flannel flower, in bloom and bud. Photo taken October 2006

These sweet flowers sat cut in a vase on the kitchen table.  I could not help myself; I reached out and touched the furry green-tipped petals.  They were soft, almost wool-like.  It was no surprise then that the answer to my query, “What are these called?” was “Flannel flower.”  I would rub the flowers against my cheek if that did not result in their destruction!

They’re a native Australian flower.  I had never before seen one and am not sure I’ve seen one since…

Orchid (of some description).  Photo taken October 2006.

Iris (of some description). Photo taken October 2006.

Much more ubiquitous are these little purple orchids irises.  They, too, are native Australian flowers.

These are the gentler flowers of Australia.  I sometimes marvel at the gentleness of English wildflowers and contrast them in my mind to brazen birds of paradise, outrageously coloured bouganvillea, overwhelming blankets of jacaranda and spiky scoparia.  But no, Australia too has its gentler species.  Now I have to find some brazen English flowers to completely tear to shreds my “English flora are gentler” theory.

And in case you don’t know what scoparia looks like, it looks like this:

Scoparia at Hartz Peak, Tasmania.  Photo taken November 2008.

Scoparia at Hartz Peak, Tasmania. Photo taken November 2008.

As beautiful as it is, it’s spiky and horrible to fall into, should you lose your footing.  Which I did.  When the scoparia happened to be above my head height.  Ouch.

4 Comments

  1. Oanh, these are phenomenal photos! I like how you’ve captured the delicate texture of these unusual blooms. That blue of the orchid is striking. And the flannel flowers look like furry tulips. Gorgeous stuff.

    Reply

  2. i couldn’t help it, but i think your orchid is an iris.

    although i’m really curious about the hoya now. i’m sure i’ve seen some nearby and can’t believe i’ve never noticed the scent. will hunt for it.

    Reply

  3. WC

    The flannel flower is very cosy. I love flannel. I would have forgiven you for cozy … but never myself 😀

    nikkipolani

    Thank you; especially from you.

    n.t.

    Gah – you are right and I have corrected. I do have a tendency to mix orchids and irises up, and to also make up names for wildflowers I encounter …

    The flannel flower and hoya are definitely correct, though, because someone else whom I solidly trust told me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

