Another Year!

I do not make public New Year’s resolutions. I make private promises to myself. This year, I’m going public.

A friend informed me that a former boss “found” my piece in Growing Up Asian in Australia, so she directed him (with my permission) to this blog.

(Hi – you know who you are Former Boss – if you’re reading this now. No need to say ‘hi’ back…)

I spent some hours re-reading past posts and am a little saddened that so many of my earlier posts read so much better than my recent posts. They seem more thoughtful, more insightful, more thinking (which I think is different to thoughtful). I need to re-capture them.

So that’s Resolution Number One: Write More and Write Better
(Although I’ll be happy with the ‘more’ bit and will leave the ‘better’ bit to fall into place. If there’s a lot of chaff, eventually there’s wheat, right?)

I’ve not really got off to a good start, but I’m a battler and I ain’t giving up.

Resolution Number Two is a bit mundane: Sleep at Regular Times on a Weeknight.

Which leads nicely to Resolution Number Three: Arrive at Work around 8.30am.

I’ve been doing very poorly on both these fronts but that’s gonna change, I swear.

Resolution Number Four: this year, REALLY, is the year I Wear Contact Lenses. This has been my New Year’s resolution (even though I say I don’t make them, I LIE) for the last, hmm, 5 years or thereabouts. Seriously, 2009 is the year. I’ll update you on that one.

chuc mung nam moi, friends.

4 Comments

  1. And Happy New Year to you, Oanh! So what is it that keep you up during weeknights? Blogging? Just kidding.

    Reply

  2. Nikkipolani –

    I really did LOL at your comment.

    Just life keeps me awake: cooking dinner, eating dinner, doing the dishes. If I spend any time on the net or computer at all, I’m up to the wee hours. Perhaps, once or twice, I stay awake to finish a novel. Bad idea, really.

    WC –

    Not every day. Just more often, and working towards frequent rather than rare. Supposedly better for my eyes, which are in serious deterioration, per my optometrist.

    Old LBW –

    new blog 😀

    I’m just aiming for ‘not grumpy at work’. My work mates will love me for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

